HEREFORD WOMEN

Hereford Women Prepare for JNHE

With preparations on the fast track for the Junior National Hereford Expo (JNHE), members of the National Hereford Women (NHW) are excited to experience our inaugural activity as a new consolidated organization.

The scholarships and contests sponsored by NHW are detailed on the *JrHereford.org* Web site, and details were distributed to junior members in the *Advantage* newsletter in early April.

NHW encourages youth to be aware of deadline dates for each activity. These activities and events add another dimension to the JNHE and create opportunities for individuals, families and state organizations to compete in a wholesome environment.

The NHW membership meeting will be at 7:30 a.m., Tuesday, July 6. This meeting is a chance to meet NHW board members, hear JNHE updates, meet queen contestants, and be informed about NHW activities through committee reports and updates.

The membership committee will be available to accept dues. The dues are \$20 per year or \$400 for a lifetime membership.

The Ways and Means booth will be open during the JNHE and will have a special table set up at the breakfast meeting. The board is initiating a new tool to keep members "in the loop" — an NHW handbook. It will be ready for distribution at the membership meeting.

A breakfast registration form is available in the NHW newsletter and the JNHE entry packet or at *www.barnaisle.blogspot.com*.

Circle the date on your calendar, mail your registration (deadline June 22), and plan to enjoy an early morning social with other NHW colleagues at "Home Again in 2010."

For more information on the breakfast, contact Mary Ann Berg at maryannberg2003@yahoo.com or 330-466-2640. **HW**



Members of AHW and NOP voted in October to combine and to form the National Hereford Women (NHW). NHW board members pictured (seated, I to r) are **Susan Gebhart**, Claremore, Okla.; **Cindy Lambert**, Oroville, Calif.; **Deb Carlson**, Royal Center, Ind.; **Jessye Goaertz**, Berwyn, Neb.; **Ann Guess**, Jayton, Texas; **Janelle Bischoff**, Huron, S.D.; and **Margeaux Firestine**, Womelsdorf, Pa. Standing (I to r) are: **Shellie Collins**, Chattanooga, Okla.; **Paula Acheson**, Woodbine, Kan.; **Jeanine Radel**, Spring Green, Wis.; **Brook Herring-Gandy**, Beaumont, Miss.; **Katie Peebles**, Hotchkiss, Colo.; **Donna Curry**, McAlester, Okla.; **Beth Burns**, Pikeville, Tenn.; **Gay Maddox**, Zionsville, Ind.; **Barbara Ernst**, Windsor, Colo.; **Susan Rader**, Mt. Vernon, Texas; **Betsk Beck**, Bainbridge, Ind.; **Diann Strickland**, Mershon, Ga.; **Denise Billman**, Newcomerstown, Ohio; **Mary Ann Berg**, Dalton, Ohio; and **Cheryl Evans**, Winona, Miss. Not pictured are: **Della Ehlke**, Townsend, Mont.; **Gail Blagg**, Grass Valley, Calif.; **Courtney Wirtjes**, Durand, Ill.; **Donna Fulton**, Lexington, N.C.; and **Carolyn Wilson**, Anita, Iowa.

National Hereford Women

Officers and committee chairs Cheryl Evans, co-president Susan Gebhart, co-president Jessye Goertz, vice president Ann Guess, secretary Shellie Collins, treasurer Brook Herring-Gandy, parliamentarian Barbara Ernst, historian Margeaux Firestine, queen chairman Denise Billman, ways and means chairman

NHW start-up team Cheryl Evans, Winona, Miss. Susan Gebhart, Claremore, Okla. Cindy Lambert, Oroville, Calif. Barbara Ernst, Windsor, Colo. Susan Rader, Mt. Vernon, Texas Donna Fulton, Lexington, N.C. Shellie Moore Collins, Chattanooga, Okla. Carolyn Wilson, Anita, Iowa Margeaux Firestine, Womelsdorf, Pa. Jessye Goertz, Berwyn, Neb.

AHW transition team

Deb Carlson, Royal Center, Ind. Ann Guess, Jayton, Texas Janelle Bischoff, Huron, S.D. Della Ehlke, Townsend, Mont. Gay Maddox, Zionsville, Ind. Beth Burns, Pikeville, Tenn. Paula Acheson, Woodbine, Kan. Denise Billman, Newcomerstown, Ohio

NOP transition team

Mary Ann Berg, Dalton, Ohio Katie Peebles, Hotchkiss, Colo. Jeanine Radel, Spring Green, Wis. Diann Strickland, Mershon, Ga. Courtney Wirtjes, Durand, III. Brook Herring-Gandy, Beaumont, Miss. Gail Blagg, Grass Valley, Calif. Donna Curry, McAlester, Okla.